About myself

What is my professional background?

I am a German counsellor (born 1964) who lives in The Hague since 2004. I graduated from Webster University in Leiden with a Master in Clinical Counselling.

My training was focused on person-centred approach, CBT (Cognitive Behaviour Therapy), Humanistic therapy and Systemic.

Additionally, I am certified by the International Center For Excellence in Emotionally Focused Therapy (ICEEFT) as an Emotional Focused Therapist for individuals and couples and by the EFT community in Germany (eft-paartherapie.de).

Furthermore I am a registered psychotherapist of the British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy (BACP) and I comply with the Ethical Framework for Good Practice in Counselling & Psychotherapy and the professional standards of the BACP. I receive regular and ongoing supervision.

Apart from my private practice I worked in the Lighthouse Den Haag (International school for children with special needs).

During my studies at Webster I was involved in a project from the University of Leiden and the Yale Child Study Center which was called “Minding the Baby”. The training was focused on the support of the development of a secure attachment (bond) between mothers and their new born baby.

In Germany, I started my first career in economics. Before I came to The Hague, I lived and worked in the cities of Stuttgart, Leipzig, Hamburg and London.

I offer counselling and psychotherapy for individuals and couples in German and English.


My personal background

In Germany, prior to deciding on becoming a counsellor, I completed my studies in economics. Before I moved to The Hague I lived in Stuttgart, Leipzig, Hamburg and London. One of my scientific research projects at the University Hamburg was dedicated to the topic: “What challenges are expat partners faced with when living abroad?” Counselling for expats is one of the focal areas of my work as a counsellor.

Due to several moves, I have personal experience on what Expat life really looks like. My family and I have found a second home in The Hague now. I am married over 25 years with two grown up kids. I love the beach —actually at “almost” any weather. In my spare time, I like to do yoga, meditate and I like to read.